“I can’t even”

Episode Title: Homecoming
Original Air Date: February 27, 2017
Episode Number: 2×14

Episode Description

When Jeremiah Danvers is rescued from Cadmus, Alex and Kara are thrilled to have their father back. The Danvers arrange a family dinner to celebrate but things go awry when a suspicious Mon-El starts to question Jeremiah about his sudden return.

My Review

Alright, unpopular opinion time again. If you like Mon-El and ship him with Kara, please skip this post.

It’s official. Mon-El has ruined this show for me (or at least this episode). His treatment of Kara throughout this episode was appalling on so many levels. He doesn’t respect her and doesn’t care about her needs. Kara asks her to keep their relationship quiet for now and what does he do? Announces it to the entire DEO that they are dating. Was this supposed to be funny or cute? Neither. It fucking pissed me off that he didn’t listen to her and didn’t respect her wish for them to keep their relationship a secret for now. What the fuck is wrong with this guy?

The other thing that pissed me off was him (and Winn) locking Kara in that room and ambushing her regarding Jeremiah. I hated the way he practically pushed her into the middle of the room and told her like she’s a dog that she needs to stand over there. What in the hell? If I were Kara, I would have broken his arm off.

And him whining to Winn what is he good for if he can’t be Kara’s protector? Seriously? He is basing his identity (or part of it) on what he is to Kara? Such poor characterization really on the writers’ part. This character has been a complete failure and I don’t think there’s any way they can fix this. The only fix I will accept is for him to die by the end of the season.

I’m not even going to discuss the whole relationship with Kara. Whatever. I’m over it and I just mute the TV and browse the Internet during their scenes.

The writers using Mon-El to be the one to suspect Jeremiah of working for Cadmus made me roll my eyes because of course Jeremiah is still working for Cadmus. That much was obvious. I don’t care that he’s right about this. A point for you, Mon-El. A point for you.

Poor Alex breaking down and Maggie comforting her. I’m glad Maggie was there for her. The show better not be angling for an alcoholic storyline with Alex because I sensed a bit of foreshadowing during that last scene and I would not be cool with that. Be more original, show, if you want to come up with a conflict between Maggie and Alex and Alex and her family.

I just want this season to be over already so we can be rid of Mon-El (hopefully). There are still eight (or is it nine?) episodes and all I can think of is “Really? We’re not even close to finishing this season?”

Leave a Reply

