“What, you’re just going to mouth kingly words?”

Episode Title: Leaps of Faith
Original Air Date: February 24, 2017
Episode Number: 4×03

Episode Description

Gideon shows Mary what life could be like if she chose love over country. Catherine fights to cover King Charles’ increasingly erratic behavior, while Claude finds an enemy in her sister Leeza.

My Review

Catherine in France battling with Leeza is still the most entertaining part of the episodes for me. I love Mary and Elizabeth battling with each other, too, but Catherine’s manipulations and shenanigans are cracking me up and I get so much enjoyment from Megan hamming it up and chewing the scenery at times.

The whole poisoning the Cardinal and him accidentally going blind and then him getting cured by Claude’s tears and her being declared a saint…non-stop hilarity. I fucking love this show for not taking itself too seriously and allowing a bit of levity amidst all the scheming and the seriousness. I was dying of laughter when the Cardinal touched Catherine’s belly and praised her for birthing a saint and then when Catherine played along. So ridiculous and so hilarious.

I cheered when Claude railed on Leeza and saying that no one cared when she left because she’s a dull girl and that no one misses her. It’s too bad Leeza was on to Claude soon after, but I have a feeling this sister vs. sister war is far from over.

Of course Mary wouldn’t really abdicate her throne. Nice try, Gideon. He was only thinking of peace for both countries and to save Mary’s life, but it’s too bad his plan didn’t work thanks to Lady Lennox’s scheming. She is turning out to be a master manipulator. I wonder if Darnley is now going back to Scotland or if he is going straight to Elizabeth to wed her.

James getting closer to Lady Knox: is he still doing this at Mary’s request or is he actually falling for Lady Knox? I liked James in this episode, trying to talk to Mary reasonably and not telling her what to do. Now that’s a good adviser. I also really like his scenes with Greer and am somewhat lowkey shipping that even though I want Greer and Castleroy to live a long and happy life. On a shallow note, the actor playing James is really handsome.

So Charles is just being an immature brat? Alrighty then. Glad that Narcisse is back in France and I can’t wait for him and Catherine to continue scheming against Leeza.

Oh, Elizabeth. She really thought she could have Mary abdicate her throne so easily? Granted, it was Gideon’s plan, but she should have been more upfront of the fortifications being done at Sandown Castle. The last scene was pretty chilling when she said “Only one queen can survive and I intend it to be me.”

Leave a Reply

