“Right now I’m really worried about my baby sister”

Episode Title: The Sin-Eater
Original Air Date: February 22, 2017
Episode Number: 5×14

Episode Description

China White, Cupid and Liza Warner break out of Iron Heights and head to Star City for revenge. Oliver tries to bring in the newly formed girl gang but the ACU intervenes mid-fight. To his surprise, they are there to arrest the Green Arrow for the murder of Detective Malone. Meanwhile, Lance feels responsible for the prison break after Warner tells him she heard about him working with Damien Darhk.

My Review

What is this show I’m watching? Last week’s episode was probably one of the show’s worst episodes ever and then they follow it up with this episode which is definitely a huge improvement from last week’s episode. I noticed that two women wrote the episode and it had a female director, too, so I vote for all three women to come back and write and direct more Arrow episodes. Who’s with me? I don’t think I’ve seen those two female writers’ names before (at least on this show) so I really hope this isn’t just a one-off.

And speaking of women, I loved that they brought back three of the female villains from seasons past. Seeing Cupid is always a lot of fun; I was delighted at China White showing up again because she reminds me of S1 days when the show was a lot less complicated and the team was just the OTA; I don’t remember much of Liza, but it’s good to see her again, too, I guess. I liked her history with Quentin and I hope she turns it around in prison.

Lots of parallels here with people taking on other people’s sins: Oliver with Anatoly, Oliver with Prometheus, Quentin with Liza. Sometimes, the parallels are eyeroll-worthy on this show, but I actually didn’t mind them in this episode.

What Thea had Felicity do to Susan was pretty fucked up and extreme, but I can’t help but still root for Thea. She only did it to protect Oliver and you can’t really fault her for that. Just glad that Oliver realized in the end that Thea was doing it because she loves him. I liked how he likened her actions to their mom, that Moira would have done exactly the same thing. Man, I really wish Moira was alive this whole time. It would have been amazing to see her interact with her kids and the Green Arrow team.

I still feel like the whole Dinah as Black Canary is a bit forced and I wasn’t fond of Felicity joining that squad with giving Dinah Laurel’s old BC mask. At least give her a new costume, no? I just wish the show would slow down a little bit with this whole push for Dinah as BC and just let it happen organically. I’m not even a Laurel fan, but this somewhat irks me because I don’t like it when writers push stories/characters down the audience’s throats instead of letting events unfold naturally.

LOVED the Thea/Felicity scene. It’s a damn shame we don’t get to see these two interact anymore with Thea working in the Mayor’s office and Felicity stuck in the lair. Their scene was a breath of fresh air and gave me the biggest laugh of the night with Felicity easily hacking into Susan’s computer because her password is 1-2-3-4, lmao. I also loved the scene where Oliver confronted Felicity about hacking into Susan’s computer if only because Oliver really got close to her and practically invaded her personal space. Apparently these two don’t have a concept of personal space, hahaha.

Good on Pike for listening to Oliver and not thinking of the Green Arrow as the enemy. It’s too bad someone leaked the whole Malone coverup to the press. I wonder who it could be? Maybe it’s Susan to get back at Oliver and his administration? Or it could be Prometheus or his mother.

I don’t believe for one second that Felicity is not able to find Prometheus’ real name with all her hacking prowess. Even though he’s erased every information about himself online, she will have the means to find it. I believe in you, Felicity. Please end this nightmare already.

Why is Curtis still going out on the field? He only gets beat up. I thought he already gave up going into the field a few episodes ago and would just stay in the lair with Felicity. Please stop making Mr. Terrific happen. Just let him be the tech wizard that he is because he’s better off helping the team in that capacity.

Leave a Reply

