“Are you a robot?”

Episode Title: Self Control
Original Air Date: February 21, 2017
Episode Number: 4×15

Episode Description

As more LMDs infiltrate S.H.I.E.L.D., suspicion begins to turn to paranoia among the members of Coulson’s team.

My Review

I usually watch this show during the weekend, but I had to watch this episode now (Thursday) because I didn’t want to accidentally get myself spoiled. Navigating social media the day after the episode aired was like a minefield. I was mostly spoiler-free and I’m glad because if someone spoiled this episode for me, I would have been so pissed.

Well, might as well get started on my reaction to one of the best AOS episodes ever, perhaps, the best AOS episode ever. This LMD arc certainly beat the Ghost Rider arc which is saying a lot because that arc was also very good. This season has been absolutely terrific and here I was ready for the show to end before this season started, lol.

I think everyone’s collective brains were blown away by this episode. I couldn’t stop saying out loud “holy shit” and “oh my god” multiple times and I’m just glad I’m alone in the house so that people won’t judge me for being crazy, hahaha.

There were a lot of fantastic scenes, but hands down, my favorite was the FitzSimmons confrontation. WOW! The emotions displayed during this scene left me speechless. Elizabeth and Iain were beyond masterful and they both deserve all the kudos for their performance. The two of them pleading with each other that they’re not a robot broke my heart and it broke again when Jemma had to “kill” Fitz. That’s gotta do a number on her mental state, stabbing a robot who is the spitting image of the person she loves the most. Poor Jemma.

Loved Daisy and Jemma teaming up and I’m grateful for the writers that Daisy and Jemma are the last two that weren’t LMDs because I enjoy them together. Their friendship gives me life and Daisy being the strong one and urging Jemma not to give up made me tear up a little bit. I also got teary-eyed when Daisy took Jemma in a hug to feel her bones and then they both proceeded to hug each other in relief. So great.

Aida is now the big bad along with the LMD version of the Superior. Oh dear. That’s not a good combination. I knew it was only a matter of time before Aida was going to Radcliffe. Classic the student becomes the teacher trope.

Is anyone reminded of the City of Light storyline in last season’s The 100 regarding the Framework? Same concept, minor differences. You don’t feel pain, everyone is better off and happy, the physical body doesn’t matter because your consciousness has already been uploaded. This also reminds me of that Black Mirror episode San Junipero – not gonna say anymore because I don’t want to spoil anyone.

And now for the Framework stuff. What the what?! Why is Jemma dead in the Framework?! Ward is going to be back?! May works for Hydra!? Coulson is not a fan of Inhumans?! Fitz is rich?! What is going on?

So many kudos must be given to the entire cast because everyone nailed this episode and gave their best performances. I’m still in awe. I can’t believe we have to wait over a month for the show to come back. That is not cool, show!

Leave a Reply

