“He’s looking at me like I’m a piece of meat”

Episode Title: The Red Scare
Original Air Date: February 20, 2017
Episode Number: 1×16

Episode Description

With one of our heroes’ lives on the line, the team chases Flynn to 1954 through the paranoid corridors of Joe McCarthy’s Washington D.C., en route to a secret, once-a-generation meeting of Rittenhouse leaders. While there, Lucy must wager the ultimate sacrifice to save history as we know it.

My Review

NBC better renew this show because I don’t want to have the show end this way with that cliffhanger about Lucy’s mom being part of Rittenhouse too and Emma being a double agent. What!? Not to mention we have Jiya being able to see the past and Flynn in jail and Rittenhouse being rounded up thanks to Lucy’s grandfather’s help. Wow. A lot of stuff happened here which set up season two very well and we’re just going to hope NBC has the good sense to renew this show.

I had a feeling Carol was part of Rittenhouse a few episodes back because you don’t cast Moira Queen (Susanna Thompson) and just have her be a regular person. I wonder how high up she is in the Rittenhouse food chain. She was super proud to tell Lucy that she’s Rittenhouse royalty for having two parents who are part of Rittenhouse. Poor Lucy. Girl just can’t catch a break.

Did anyone else thought there was a scene missing when Lucy told Ethan about who they really were and what he needs to do to help take down Rittenhouse? The cut from the past to the present was a bit jarring to me and for a second there I thought my video was incomplete.

In any case, I really liked all of Lucy’s scenes with past and present Ethan. Her (and Wyatt) telling Ethan that there’s nothing wrong with being gay was so great. I liked the actor they cast for the role, too. He came off so sympathetic and charming.

Will Rittenhouse just overturn all the charges against their own? If they’re really super powerful like they claim to be, all the evidence that Ethan has gathered can be easily thrown out in court, right? The team would be back in square one and in even deeper shit since now Rittenhouse has their own time machine and own pilot.

Wonder how Flynn must feel when he finds out that Emma was a Rittenhouse pawn all this time and he was the one who brought her back and made all this happen. And herein is where all the questions about time surface. Did Rittenhouse foresee this and planted Emma in the past so that Flynn will take her back to the present and then their plan would then come to fruition? So many questions.

I have never been a Wyatt/Lucy shipper and I’m still not a shipper, but I did like their last scene together. It was a bit heavy-handed at times, but both actors have an easy chemistry with each other. The show has built their relationship pretty organically and hasn’t force them down the audience’s throats so I wouldn’t mind (too much) if they eventually/inevitable get together.

I am as shocked as Agent Christopher to have Mason help Time Team in the end. He’s a good guy after all. Good thing his relationship with Rufus has swayed him to do the right thing.

Overall, this has been a strong first season and I’m glad I stuck with the show because it only got better and better after every episode. I love the team and I love their interactions amongst themselves and with the people in history that they meet. I want to see more.

Leave a Reply

