“Tall, dark, and blandsome”

Episode Title: Mr. & Mrs. Mxyzptlk
Original Air Date: February 20, 2017
Episode Number: 2×13

Episode Description

When Mr. Mxyzptlk, a magical imp, shows up on Earth and declares his love for Kara, she tries to let him down easy, thinking him harmless. However, he decides it’s a challenge and starts to wreak havoc on National City. Mon-El has seen beings like Mr. Mxyzptlk on Daxam and knows how dangerous they can be. He and Kara argue over how to get rid of Mr. Mxyzptlk, further straining their relationship. Meanwhile, Alex and Maggie celebrate their first Valentine’s Day together.

My Review

Unpopular opinion time. Look away, comic book fans. Look far, far away.

Fuck this episode. Fuck them for having two douchebros have a dick-measuring contest to “win” Kara. What kind of outdated nonsense are the writers preaching here? Yes, they did throw in Kara saying “I’m no damsel in distress, I’m Supergirl”, but whatever. The words didn’t equate to what we actually saw onscreen with the two idiots dueling each other for Kara’s hand. This plot was a complete and utter failure. I honestly thought that the scene with Kara and Mon-El arguing in the middle of the DEO was one of the most juvenile and possibly the worst scene this show has ever had. I’m not kidding/exaggerating. If the writers thought that was cute, it was not. It was embarrassing and made me question why I watch this show.

I know there are a ton of Kara/Mon-El shippers and lord knows I’ve made it clear in past reviews that I’m not a fan, but the continual Kara/Mon-El pairing being shoved down my throat by the writers is making me lose interest in Kara and that’s unfortunate because she’s one of the reasons why I watch this show. I’m not going to pretend to enjoy watching her being used as Mon-El’s love interest (don’t convince me it’s the other way around) because I have no interest in that at all. And before anyone accuses me of wanting to see Kara and Lena together, I’m not an ardent shipper of those two, but at least their scenes are infused with chemistry (unlike Kara/Mon-El). Yes, it’s all subjective. Potato, potahto, so no point in arguing over this. Just sharing my opinion.

This episode was saved by the other two plots: Maggie sharing her coming out story and why she dislikes Valentine’s Day broke my heart. I still can’t believe this plot was written by the same writers who did the stupid Kara/Mon-El/Mxywhatever plot. Then again, maybe one writer is responsible for the former and one for the latter. That could explain the huge chasm in quality between the two plots.

Maggie went all out with the belated Valentine’s Day. I am impressed. Their last scene together was really sweet and made me want them to never ever break up.

Winn getting some alien action was a nice surprise! He had pretty good chemistry with Lyra and I love that Winn was not shy about going out with her in public and didn’t care what anyone else thought. I’m rooting for these two kids.

Leave a Reply

