“Land of the free, home of the incredibly stupid”

Episode Title: Spectre of the Gun
Original Air Date: February 15, 2017
Episode Number: 5×13

Episode Description

A traumatic attack on City Hall triggers painful memories for Rene about his family. Flashbacks reveal how Rene went from simple family man to a hero named Wild Dog. Meanwhile, Oliver must deal with the perpetrator behind the attack and realizes the best way to do so is as Mayor Queen instead of the Green Arrow. Tensions run high in the Arrow bunker.

My Review

Well, I guess this is going to be a very unpopular opinion, but this has got to be the worst episode the show has done. Please leave the civics lesson to better shows and just focus on the superheroing and the vigilante-ing and leave the politics alone. Guggenheim tried, but the whole time I was watching the episode, it felt like I was being preached upon and was being taught a lesson. That’s not why I watch this show. I watch it to escape reality and because I enjoy the characters (some more than others) and since we already have enough stupid shit to deal with in real life, I don’t want that pervading the shows I watch.

If they really had to do this episode, I wish they would have done it a lot better. The dialogue was clunky as hell and the characters didn’t feel genuine with whatever were coming out of their mouths. Interesting that Felicity didn’t get a perspective at all when she has also gotten shot. Guess she was the third perspective in that some people just don’t want to deal with this and would rather live about their merry lives and just focus on that. Of course, there’s nothing wrong with that. To each their own.

Rene’s back story was shocking in that he was married and had a pre-teen kid. That flashback episode didn’t do anything to make me like him. He was back to being an ass and I love that Oliver and company just hire anyone without any qualifications to be part of his administration. Then again, Thea and Oliver really don’t have that much experience in politics and yet one is the mayor’s chief of staff and the other one is mayor. I believe this is what they call “suspension of disbelief.”

Are Diggle and Felicity still friends? Why are the writers so adamant in these two not having scenes at all? Now that Dinah is part of the group, she gets to have scenes with Diggle. It’s good that he’s trying to help her and all that, but I miss Diggle and Felicity interacting. Give me Original Team Arrow, dammit.

If I hear Rene say “Hoss” one more time, I’m going to punch him in the face. I’m not a violent person, but it’s pissing me off so much to hear him say this. It was funny in the last episode, but now he’s calling Curtis “Hoss”, too? SHUT UP.

Nice to see Thea back. Seriously, what the fuck was Willa doing this entire time? Was she shooting a movie? Did she has other filming commitments? Nevertheless, it was awesome having her back and giving Oliver grief (and rightfully so) for dating Susan. Her vomit comment was hilarious. Also loved her quip “I wish I never would have left.” Girl, you have no idea.

Leave a Reply

