“You, me, Felicity. We make each other better.”

Episode Title: Bratva
Original Air Date: February 8, 2017
Episode Number: 5×12

Episode Description

A mission takes Oliver, Felicity and team to Russia where they meet up with Oliver’s old friend, Anatoly. Meanwhile, fresh out of rehab, Lance returns to the mayor’s office ready to get back to work. However, when Susan asks for an interview with Lance to discuss his addiction, he balks and it’s up to Rene to help keep things on track.

My Review

This was easily the best episode of the season and you know why? Because it put the focus back on the OT3: Oliver, Diggle, and Felicity. Loved, loved, LOVED all of their scenes together and they made me yearn for the earlier seasons when it was just the three of them kicking ass and making Star(ling) City a better place.

Oliver telling Diggle and Felicity that he needs them to be better than him made me go aww and then later on when Diggle said “You, me, Felicity. We make each other better” I AWWWWWWWWW-ed even louder. These scenes were topnotch and I hope that Arrow listens to the fans’ feedback regarding this episode and make adjustments for the later episodes and make them OT3-heavy.

Another great thing about this episode was the Felicity/Rory scenes and their friendship. The show has built their friendship quite well in previous episodes so to see the culmination of that in this episode was glorious. Rory was worried about what Pandora’s box would do to Felicity’s moral compass was very sweet. Felicity is turning to the dark side to resort to helping out the team and to blackmail bad people. I see where Rory is coming from, but I’m with Felicity on this. Sometimes you have to bend the rules a little bit to defeat the bad guys.

I hope this wasn’t the last we’ve seen of Rory. I loved that he rescued everyone from the bomb and he was more than willing to sacrifice himself. We need more of that attitude on the team and I would hate it if we lost him.

Curtis and Rory impersonating Bratva and trying to act like Felicity’s bodyguards was epic. The show needs to do these types of capers more often with the team because this whole episode was a lot of fun.

Hell, I even liked Wild Dog (for the third straight episode) and that’s saying a lot since I haaaated the character with a fiery passion. His scenes with Lance cracked me up and him telling Lance about that story when he was a little kid was a good scene.

I’m just going to ignore the Oliver/Susan nonsense because ewww.

And I knew she wasn’t to be trusted. She’s been spying on Oliver and now she has strong evidence that Oliver is the Green Arrow. I’ve a feeling she’s not going to last through the season. Her death is imminent.

Leave a Reply

