“Have I mentioned how much I love my new gun?”

Episode Title: The Martian Chronicles
Original Air Date: February 6, 2017
Episode Number: 2×11

Episode Description

Armek, a White Martian, descends on National City intent on taking M’gann back to Mars to face her punishment as a traitor. Hank and Supergirl determine the best way to keep M’gann safe is to bring her to the DEO. However, when it is revealed that Armek shape-shifted into M’gann and is now loose in the building, the team realize he could be disguised as any one of them.

My Review

Unpopular opinion time: I swear to God, the Kara/Mon-El storyline is making me really dislike this aspect of the show and makes me not as enthusiastic about the show as earlier during the season. Why must the writers shove this relationship down the audience’s throat? I know there’s a faction of fans for this couple and more power to you, but my reason for not wanting to see this relationship unfold is because the writers forced this on us and keeps on forcing it instead of having them become friends first and then becoming closer and falling in love with each other without realizing it. If their story was written this way, I would not have any opposition towards them getting together. Hell, I’d probably be shipping it, too. But note to the writers: the harder you force these two together, the harder I will resist. I’m pretty sure I’m not alone on this (hello, to all the lesbian fans).

I was not a fan of Alex in this episode and this hurts a lot to admit because she’s my favorite character. I’m not even annoyed by her ditching Kara for her 13th Earth birthday because she did everything right in regards to this. She talked to Kara and apologized and that they would celebrate the following night. It’s not Alex’s fault that Kara couldn’t be honest with her in regards to her feeling like she’s being abandoned. Quite an exaggeration on Kara’s part since this is probably the first time in 13 years that Alex has missed her birthday. It’s annoying to me that Kara always has to be reassured that Alex will always put her first, that Alex will always be there for her, that Alex will always protect her, etc. I don’t know. I’ve had a bad day so I wasn’t in a good mindset while watching this episode and it shows in this review.

The one thing that really annoyed me about Alex was the fact that she kept on harping about Kara’s feelings for Mon-El. Shut up, writers. You’re using my favorite character as your mouthpiece and I’m not happy about it. Stop this nonsense. Yes, who else is Kara going to talk to about Mon-El and her feelings, you say? Alex, that’s who. I just don’t like the fact that she’s being used this way.

Loved all the J’onn/M’gann scenes. J’onn being protective of her and telling her that he will protect her forever was so sweet. It’s too bad M’gann is going back to Mars (is this the end of Sharon Leal’s arc on the show?) so now J’onn is left alone by himself and with her adoptive daughters.

I had a feeling Alex was the White Martian so I was surprised that it turned out to be Winn, but I’m glad I was still right when it was revealed later that Alex was another White Martian! I bet Jeremy Jordan got a kick out of doing those fight scenes.

To sum up, the show needs to drop the whole Mon-El/Kara thing because I’m not buying it nor will I ever buy it.

Leave a Reply

