“If that was an apology, I didn’t hear the words”

Episode Title: Ka Pa’ani Nui
Original Air Date: February 3, 2017
Episode Number: 7×15

Episode Description

When working a murder case involving the illegal practice of shark finning, Five-0 uncovers the possibility that a former Nazi war criminal may be hiding out in an old leper colony in Hawaii.

My Review

Two crimes in one episode, alright. I liked that they mixed up the teams here with Steve and Chin working together and Kono, Danny, and Grover working as another team. I also liked how they utilized the rest of the cast: Eric with his interactions with Bill, the leprosy survivor; Noelani helping crack the case of how that guy really died; Jerry helping the team in his own way by using technology; Kamekona and his cousin airing out their work disputes. Heck, even Grace and Grover’s son even got a bit of air time. Good job, show.

I wanted to eat Grover’s pancakes. He’s right, they did look good. I laughed when he pulled out his phone and took a video of the sizzling pancakes and trying to show it off to Chin.

I know this was an ad for people not to eat shark fin soup and yet I liked it. People need to stop eating that then there would be no need to mutilate those poor sharks like that. They are living beings and they’re dying just because you can have your $10 (or whatever price they sell for) shark fin soup. It’s inhumane.

Didn’t think it was the sheriff who murdered the Holocaust survivor’s granddaughter. I was suspicious of Bill (the leprosy survivor) for the entire episode and was even holding my breath when he asked Eric how he’s able to find fingerprints.

It was nice of the show to show us a little bit more of Hawaii and its history. I didn’t know that there was a leprosy colony in Hawaii and that access to that island is restricted. Very interesting.

Best sight gag of the episode was Chin waiting for the guy who sold the gun to Leia with his arms crossed and just chilling while Steve is hot on the guy’s tail. That cracked me up.

Lastly, who did that Lily actress know for her to be on this show? She played the Shark Whisperer and I thought she was horrible at it. My first thought was “Somebody owed her something or she knows someone.”

Leave a Reply

