“Sudden fucking death”

Episode Title: Shrimp Boats and Hat Ladies
Original Air Date: February 2, 2017
Episode Number: 14×10

Episode Description

The chefs are asked to prepare a decadent brunch for the famed Charleston Hat Ladies. However, it won’t be a traditional southern brunch as they must create whimsical breakfast and lunch hybrid dishes inventive enough to impress the judges.

My Review

As a Brooke fan, this was a tough one to watch. Her Elimination Challenge dish in the last episode would have been perfect for the Elimination Challenge in this episode so I was super worried that her lack of creativity and not following the instructions for the challenge would do her in and it almost did with Padma and Gail seemingly voting for her to leave, but Tom and Dominique stating their cases that Sylva’s execution was more egregious (and his dish not tasting that good anyway) than Brooke’s lack of creativity. I’m so glad she’s still in it and I hope that she can use this to buoy herself to the finale. Then again, we have that clip of her crying at what looks like the Judges’ Table in the previews and I’m scared all over again.

I thought Sheldon was going to win the Elimination Challenge so I was a bit shocked that Shirley did. I mean, I actually thought Shirley’s dish, from her description, was pretty genius and even though I’m not a meat eater, I thought it sounded delicious to me. Hamburger in a dumpling? Sure!

Sheldon’s dish was also pretty genius and even the diners seemed to overwhelmingly loved it and that’s why I thought he was going to win. Well, he did win at the Quickfire so that was pretty awesome. I hope to see him in the finals with Brooke and Shirley.

Sorry to see Sylva go and him not winning in LCK was tough. I really thought he was going to be in the finals. He has a bright future ahead of him, though. He proved on the show that he is an excellent chef and I hope he parlays his success and time on the show to open his own restaurant (if he doesn’t have one already) because I’m sure investors would be lining up now.

Casey gotten eliminated at the Quickfire was not really a shock. So instead of underseasoning her dish, she overseasons it. Why can’t she get a good balance? But at least she’s still in LCK and has a chance to get back in the game.

Lastly, Gail looked stunning at Judges’ Table. This show needs more Gail, man.

Leave a Reply

