“I’ll miss you too, you sexy skyscraper”

Episode Title: Michael’s Gambit
Original Air Date: January 19, 2017
Episode Number: 1×13

Episode Description

Eleanor and her friends contemplate their fates and destiny in the Good Place.

My Review

Oh. My. God. That was SO AWESOMELY PERFECT. I don’t think I’ve ever been legitimately been this shocked at such a twist since the flash sideways reveal on Lost and the alternate universe reveal on Fringe. Kudos to the writers, cast, and crew for crafting such a smart show and for fooling everyone into thinking that this really was the Good Place.

Funny thing is that Eleanor became a good person during her stay here and she really made great progress into becoming a better person and she even let herself get closer to Chidi and Tahani and have become great friends with them. She wasn’t like that at all when she was alive so it warmed my cold heart when she decided to go back so that neither of her friends would be sent off to the Bad Place. She even volunteered herself to go to the Bad Place before she figured out they’re already in the Bad Place.

I don’t think anyone who watches this show figured out that twist. When Eleanor came to that realization, I was still so confused and was waiting with bated breath for her explanation and when she said it, I didn’t believe it until Michael started laughing this evil laugh and confirming that it is true. I cannot wait to rewatch the entire season to see if there were hints that this really was the Bad Place and to also keep a close eye on Michael. Damn, this show is so craftily created and so smart. Michael Schur, you evil genius.

Jason and Janet continue to be weirdly hilarious. When Jason asked Janet to promise him to come visit him in the Bad Place and her saying with a smile on her face “I will not” made me laugh so hard. That actress continues to be hilarious. Truly the standout of this show.

Tahani and Eleanor? You bet I’m shipping it. I’ve been shipping it for a while so it made me ecstatic when Eleanor said “Side note, I might legit be into Tahani.” Heeeee! Tahani’s reaction was the best as was Chidi’s. Kristen Bell’s delivery was pretty much perfect. Make it happen, show! Also, what else I need to happen is to have this show renewed for a second season. Don’t let me down, NBC. I want to find out how Eleanor figures out what that note and how she’s going to find Chidi and Tahani.

Leave a Reply

